Running is hard, who knew?

I completed my first week of Couch to 5k! I am so proud of myself for achieving this much that it’s a little embarrassing. I can only imagine how I’ll feel if (or should I say, when) I complete all of the weeks.

It was a struggle, and honestly I did have to force myself to do it on all three of the days. There’s a little voice inside my head that pipes up whenever I think about running, constantly telling me that I’m not a runner and that I’ll never be able to complete this entire thing. It is difficult to squash that voice out long enough to do a run, and it is difficult not to believe what the voice says but I do also believe that the first step – in any situation – is most often the hardest, and is very often the most important in completing your goal, so I am determined to keep squashing the voice, and to keep running.

My main takeaway from this first week is that running is hard. Very hard. Am I stating the obvious here? Of course, but I still think it needs to be said. I am in total awe of people who run for any decent amount of time without stopping. I can only hope to come close to what they do at some point in the, not-so-near, future. But I’ve also realised that I want to be able to run without stopping for a semi-decent amount of time so I am going into week two of my Couch to 5k even more determined than I was a week ago!

2 thoughts on “Running is hard, who knew?

Leave a Reply

