5 Things That Make No Sense To Me

I love a list. I have notebooks all over the place filled with lists of what I need to do, what I want to do, what I need to see. I have lists in progress and completed lists. I’m currently making a list of everything I need to do before leaving my student halls. Right now though, I want to list things that don’t make any sense (to me, anyway).

Excessive hashtagging. I use hashtags, on instagram and from time to time on twitter. I get what they’re for and blah blah blah; I don’t have a problem with hashtags as a whole. I just don’t understand people who post a picture of themselves and hashtag it as so: #me #myself #i #girl #selfie #person #woman #[insert own name here]  #picture #photo #hat #dress #shoe #sock #bra #knickers. You get the idea. Another thing that makes no sense where hashtags are concerned is this: you post a picture of you and your best friend, it’s very nice. You add hashtags, because why wouldn’t you? But they go something like this: #best #friend #love #you #friends #forever. Now to me, that misses the point of hashtagging. Surely it should be #bestfriend #loveyou #friendsforever? Am I missing something here?  Where will the madness end?

Being mean to people who are only trying to help you. Possibly my biggest pet peeve, because it makes absolutely no sense to me, I can barely understand the mentality of it. Oh, you don’t like your food? Well yeah, attack the waiter because they were the ones who cooked it, not the ones who simply brought it to you. Oh, you’re having a bad day? Obviously it’s the nice sales assistant’s fault who’s only trying to help you, please continue to shout at them.

Spencer MatthewsFrom Made in Chelsea. If you don’t know what it is, it’s a TV show that follows the lives of some rich people and it’s the most awkward show I’ve ever watched, and I only watch it from time to time. Anyway, my brother loves Spencer and I’m sure there are other people out there who do too but I do not get it at all. He went on holiday with I think 3 of his exes and the girl he was currently seeing (which is insane in the first place) and he ended up sleeping with one of his exes. Not the girl he’d brought with him, a girl who he’d previously treated like shit and who apparently “hated him”. Right there on the holiday! This is one of many reasons he makes no sense to me and I will continue to be baffled by him probably forever.

Why people say they wish they had hair like mine. Trust me, you don’t. Yeah it’s occasionally fabulously wavy. But mainly it’s thick and it’s frizzy and I only brush it before and after it’s washed (to keep the occasional waves the rest of the time) so it’s usually knotty.  And sure, maybe if you had my hair you wouldn’t be as lazy as I am and would do something like straighten it every day so it looked good always. But guess what? Doing that every day would mean you don’t actually want this hair, you want luscious straight locks that don’t look so thick.

People who ditch their friends as soon as they get a boyfriend/girlfriend. This literally makes zero sense to me, I can’t get my head around what must go through their minds? I lost my very best friend because of this. I mean, it can’t be blamed solely on this but it was a very big contributor. She never had much time for me when she had a boyfriend but she got together with this one in particular at a time where our lives were going in different directions and it was worse than before. Even almost 3 years later it breaks my heart thinking about it because I genuinely thought we would be friends, if not forever then certainly for a long, long time. This girl was my soulmate and now the only interactions we have are generic texted happy birthdays, merry christmases and happy new years. We had other problems in our friendship yeah, but I genuinely believe we could’ve at least tried to sort them out. But it just got too hard for me to keep trying to make the effort to see her, so I had to let it go.

There are many, many (many) other things that don’t make any sense but it could just turn into a rant and I need to finish packing up my room so I’ll leave it at these!

 

6 thoughts on “5 Things That Make No Sense To Me

  1. The excessive hashtagging drives me nuts. Mainly because I dont hash tag and really is it necessary to have 12 hash tags for a one word post? Also curly hair here, everyone wants curly hair until they have curly hair. Its a ton of work. I stop straightening a year ago. I washed today and its already frizzy. Was too tired to do anything else to it so let it air dry-mistake.

Leave a Reply

