A Tale Of Why Two Cities

If you could split your time evenly between two places, and two places only, which would these be? Answer: I wouldn’t.

I’m sort of already doing this in that I spend half my time at uni and half my time back at home during the holidays. But once I finish uni I want to spend the majority of my time wherever I choose to live and work and then spend any holiday time etc going to all different places. But I wouldn’t want it split 50/50. Especially if you choose two different countries, what a massive pain having to spend say half the year there, and then having to pack everything up and leave everyone behind for another half a year somewhere else. For the rest of your life? No, thanks.

However, although I don’t want to live like this forever, I think going to uni in a different city, or just living in a different city for a while, is a really good idea. Why limit yourself to one place for your whole life!

  • As you don’t see them as often, you get to really appreciate the people in your life, at both ends
  • You get to live in two cities, which can be a great experience. I go to uni in London which is so different to my hometown!
  • Living away from home prepares you for “real life”. This is more for if you go to uni; living in student halls can be a nice stepping stone from living at home to living…not at home
  • You can tell exciting, extravagant stories about your city to people who have never been. And they’ll probably never know if you’re lying or not
  • I can only speak for myself, but whenever I go home my parents are so pleased to see me that I get all the great home comforts like my favourite meals!

It’s pretty likely I’ll move home, at least for a little while, after I finish my degree but I think moving to a different city for the three years will have been one of the best decisions I’ve made.

2 thoughts on “A Tale Of Why Two Cities

Leave a Reply

